In Many parts of the world today, there is a profitable market for products which lightens the skin.

Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss the effect they have in terms of health and society.

Cosmetic organizations project that revenue from skin lightening creams has seen a tremendous rise in the recent years. Increase in the number of TV promotions and the mindset of population about dark complexion are some of the major promoters for purchase of fairness creams. Effects from usage fairness creams may impact both health and society.

Nowadays, TV commercials for skin lightening creams have been incredible surge. Because advertisements promote fair complexion is beauty, viewers started relating beauty to white skin. As people have not understood the fact beauty is skin deep, the community is tempted to use these fairness creams to improve their skin colour.

People have also started relating skin colour to status. If they have a dark complexion, they are forced to feel inferior. This mindset has promoted the impulsive purchase of fairness creams. Dermatologists receive a huge number of patients for improving the skin colour. Prescription of Sunscreen lotions have also created a new market under skin lightening creams.

The community do not remember the constant use of these creams cause long terms effects on health. The harsh chemicals used for the manufacture of these products may lead to skin cancer. Items used for skin lightening are also proved to cause faster skin ageing. Dark complexed people feel inferior in the community. People have also lost self-confidence when they do not use these creams. A society with low esteem is emerging who cannot thrive without the use of fairness creams.

Though Skin lightening creams may improve company profits, these may have a larger impact to the population in both health and societal view. If the responsible depiction of the advertisements and usage of creams are encouraged, we would be able to build a better society with more self-esteem.