‘Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity.’

How far do you share this viewpoint?

It is often said that everyone should contribute a certain portion of their income towards charity. It seems to me that forcing everybody to donate is not a good idea and I will explain why in this essay.

First of all, not everyone can afford to give away a fixed chunk of their income for donation. This is because they themselves might be struggling to meet their ends. The prohibitive cost of living and child education do not leave enough savings for many families. It will be therefore very difficult or even impossible for them to contribute towards charity. Furthermore, people need to save for their retirement. The elderly years bring along challenges related to health and finance. Thus some people might prefer to save for themselves so that they would be able to live their retirement with dignity without being dependent on their offspring or the government.

It is true that receiving charity can improve the lives of people living under poverty. However, the donation should come from people who can afford to donate and it should definitely not be by enforcement, rather it should be from one’s own willingness to help.

To conclude, the increased expenses of daily lives and the need to save for one’s own retirement does not leave enough money for most citizens to donate. Hence it might be an injustice to force them to give away a fixed amount to support charity. It seems more logical that people should be motivated to donate based on their own ability and circumstances, rather than a general view that “everybody” should donate a “fixed amount” of their income.