In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular.

Why do you think these books and Tv shows are popular?

What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

The popularity of crime fiction is ever-increasing. We will discuss the reasons and the consequences of such trend in this essay.

It goes without saying that the crime novels and movies provide a great deal of entertainment with their storytelling, suspense and violence. This has created a huge demand for such content, consequently, more and more authors and movie-makers are interested in creating such stories. We can look at a widely-popular series "The Money Heist" which was released on Netflix. This show depicts a gang of criminals who plan a bank-robbery. The story indirectly glorifies such crime and it is strange that the audience develops a sense of attachment towards the main character who is the mastermind behind the whole plan. This series became so popular that the director has released three more seasons for the show, and each one of them became a great hit.

In my point of view, such content has few advantages and disadvantages. On one hand, it provides a great entertainment to the audience. People can imagine themselves as the criminal or the victim, and find a great escape from their routine life. However, it is also a threat to the society when people start to sympathize with the criminal characters. There are also a few examples in real life where some crimes are motivated from a novel or a movie. For instance, a bank in India was robbed by a boy who was great fan of movies about robbery. This is not to generalize that everyone who enjoys such content tends to indulge in such activity, but it clearly explains the negative impact. Furthermore, children under certain age must be kept away from such material as it might be inappropriate for their cognitive development.

To conclude, people enjoy crime novels and movies because of great story, suspense and violence. However, it should never convince the audience to commit such crimes and the children should not have an access to such content until certain age.