Crime appears to be rising in most countries in the world, especially among young people.

Identify the possible causes of this trend, and propose some solutions you think would be effective.

The number of criminal offences seems to be shooting in most nations around the world. While the origins of this situation seem to stem from three factors, several remedies appear to be open to us.

Perhaps the major factor here is the ineffectiveness of law and regulation. If the legislation is slow and manipulatable, the criminals would be unafraid of committing crimes. Look at Iran for instance, the average time for court to declare a verdict is 5 years. This gives the offenders enough time to manipulate with law and to find an escape. Another cause might be the lack of employment opportunities. It is getting more and more difficult for youngsters to find good jobs due to increased competitions. Consequently, the youth tends to look into other inappropriate sources of income such as robbery, theft and murders. Finally, the huge gap between the rich and the poor causes an imbalance in the society. As we all know, the rich are getting richer and the poors are becoming poorer. This imbalance in the society motivates the less fortunate people to try illegal ways to quick riches and indulges them into heinous crimes.

Turning to solutions, an obvious step would be to make the law effective. This might require increasing night patrol squads, having more fast-track courts and introducing severe punishments. It might deter the criminals from committing crimes and improve the safety of people. A second remedy might be to increase the employment opportunities for youngsters. This would inspire them to earn a living with dignity and stop them from indulging into criminal activities. Finally, governments should improve the living standards of poor people by providing pensions for the elderly and reservations in jobs based on family income. If the gap between the poor and the rich were less, it would bring a good balance and harmony to the society.

In summary, factors of ineffective law and fewer job opportunities appear to be the main causes behind increasing crime records. Nevertheless, having a strong and reliable legislation and having better job opportunities for the youngsters might mitigate the situation.