Crime appears to be rising in most countries in the world, especially among young people. Identify the possible causes of this trend, and propose some solutions you think would be effective.

The modern society is facing ever-increasing crime rate among young people. There appear to be various reasons for such a situation and a number of solutions also appear to be possible, which will be discussed in ensuing paragraphs.

Perhaps the major factor is the government’s failure to generate employment for the young generation. For example, in India, every year lacs of students are graduating in various fields and become job-ready. Some of them accept the job for which they are over-eligible and others in the absence of job opportunities turn their ways towards committing the crime. Another possible cause is the internet meaning that it has increasingly closely connected people through social media platforms like Facebook, Twitter, and WhatsApp. These are constantly flooded with glamorous lifestyle information of celebrities that young generations follow most. The youngster tries to copy their lifestyle and live like them without considering financial situations they are in and when they short of money they indulge in crime.

Turning to possible solutions, the most obvious step would be for the government is to increase economic activities like accept foreign direct investment from a foreign company and take steps to control the population of the country, this would increase employment and consequently reduce the crime. The second remedy might be social media censorship, which means the government agency would monitor the content of these sites and also enact a law that restricts the use of media by the celebrities to influence young people in the wrong directions.

In summary, the unemployment rate and increasing use of social media appear to be the main cause. Reform in government policy and social media censorship may well lessen the severity of the situation.