Excessive consumption of sugar causes many health-related issues. Some people believe the government should control the population’s sugar intake while others think people themselves should be responsible for their sugar eating habits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The responsibility between government versus individuals to control sugar consumption levels is debatable. Some people argued that the government should be responsible to control excessive sugar intake levels in the country, while others have the opposite views and stated that it’s an individual’s call to change their habit to eat less sugary drinks. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and give evidence as to why both the government and individuals are accountable.

To start with, Advocates of government to be responsible for arguing that it’s a country's responsibility to limit the consumption level of sugar intake because the unnecessary consumption could increase the health problems in the country such as diabetes and obesity, consequently it will burden the government’s health budget. Nevertheless, they ought to restrict the sugar intake by implementing stringent laws in the country to produce sugar-free products, and violators should be imposed a hefty fine with the closure of plants to realizes their fault. Besides, the government should impose heavy taxes on sugary products in a bid to reduce sugar intake. Norway is the best example to describe, where they have imposed taxes on sugary and confectionary items, so the people could avoid to buy them, as a result, the average sugar intake level in Norway has recently been decreased from 43% to 26% per person.

On the other hand, despite these potential arguments, some people give equally convincing reasons why people are responsible for themselves. Firstly, the government doesn’t have access to monitor and change people's habits to consume less sugar by just introducing new laws to impose fines. It’s an individual’s responsibility to check the sugar content before buying the product from superstores and must understand that having a large amount of sugar would affect their body which could lead to various diseases. Therefore, they must change their lifestyle to spend a healthy life.

In conclusion, although sugar is one of the important ingredients of food; however, its excessive consumption could lead to many health problems. I am of the view that this can be controlled with the help of government by implementing laws and taxes as well as people to make them aware of its consequences.