Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas many now suffer from loneliness and health problems. What are the cause of this and what are some solutions.

Time is changing and with the advancement in technology, the elderly's level of happiness as well as their well being also altered. In today’s world, owing to modern lifestyle, senior citizens are more likely to feel more lonely and are less happy. There are several reasons for this problem and various measures can be taken by individuals and governments to improve this situation.

Changing lifestyle and the advent of technology are the main causes of this trouble. To begin with, nowadays, as a result of economic obligations, people devote virtually their whole time to work and it leaves them with little time to visit their elder members of the family and communicate with each other. Therefore, parental care and control is restricted to texting and phone calls only, and in turn, these aged people develop a sense of isolation. This situation is compounded by the fact that, the wrong modern way of living encourages people to follow the poor eating habits. Retired old people, for instance, who is eating food that have poor nutritional value or having sedentary lifestyle and lacking of exercising on a regular basis is more likely to suffer from health problems.

There are different steps to mitigate this obstacle that should be taken by individuals and governments. Firstly, children should be realized, their parents overrides the importance of all precious things in the world and also the parents and grandparents should be an utmost priority of every person. Therefore, once the offspring spend some hours with their parents and grandparents provide them a sense of contentment. Furthermore, governments should raise public awareness about the consequence of eating poor quality of food that bring about a serious health problem for senior citizens. In addition, governments should provide retired people facilities to exercise on a daily basis in order to avoid mental troubles. In fact, these measures are feasible solutions for this problem.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the fact that maintaining elder people healthy in terms of mental and physical is an unattainable ideal, once the measures that mentioned above are implemented, aged-people are more likely to enjoy a greater degree of happiness and health in their lives.