Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recreational activities have significant importance in one's life, in the modern age and day, it is becoming more popular. This essay will discuss the motivation for people to adopt a hobby, furthermore the positive impact of this phenomenon on one's life and on the society.

To begin with, having recreational activities is getting popular in this contemporary world, there can be a wide range of activities that people opt as a hobby. Some of the famous hobbies are: sports, reading, gardening, watching movies and TV, surfing intenret, playing online games, and many other similar activities. All of these activities require time and in some cases engagement also.

Having a hobby has plethora of benefits; however, two of the main advantages will be discussed here: First and foremost, in opting a hobby the individual really enjoys doing that specific activity and it brings happiness and joy. In this stressfull world, where people are sorrounded by hectic work routines and negative news, having a hobby is nothing less than a blessing, and it can have a meditational impact. Reading a book while sitting on the coach can take someone to a fantasy world and one will forget the challenges that life offers. Secondly, most of the hobbies help in improving the knowledge-base or physical fitness, depending on the nature of the hobby, for example, playing football can give an athletic physique that is good for health, while reading books is a mental exercise and improves intellect and communication skills.

Simlarly, there are certain benefits to the society if people have hobbies, the aggregate knowledge base and health of the society will improve. One other benefit is that people who have common interest will bond with eacht oher, which will bring coherence in the society.

To conclude, the benefits of having hobbies are apparent, it brings mental and physical fitness, as well as, improve the social bonding among people.