Fewer and fewer people walk daily. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

In the modern world, human’s living standard has been rapidly enhanced due to various life-altering benefits brought by technology. However, it is also worth mentioning that a growing number of people have lost their habit of walking regularly. The following paragraphs will discuss the reasons as well as the appropriate measures that need to be implemented to reverse the situation.

The decline in walking may be attributable to a wide range of reasons. First of all, advancement in methods of transportation enables people to reduce a considerable amount of time spent on commuting, which might discourage them from walking. Therefore, the majority of people prefer to take public transports or drive their vehicle rather than walk to the destinations. Additionally, employees in various professions, including medical care workers, painstaking scientists and etc., are required to immerse themselves in their workplace, thereby having no sufficient leisure time that can be spent on walking.

On the other hand, it is essential to taking several steps to rekindle people’s enthusiasm for daily walking. First of all, governments should develop and enforce relevant policies or regulations to conduct strict controls on vehicle use. For instance, they can impose a high tax on the use of petrol and raise public transport fares, which could effectively increase the popularity of active travel such as walking. Furthermore, more public funds should be diverted to the construction of footpaths and walkways to provide walkers with more attractive and comfortable environment to walk.

In summary, it is reasonable to believe that individuals are less likely to walk regularly due to the enhanced methods of transport and more intensive workloads that put a tremendous strain on their everyday life. However, it is worth considering that spending time on daily walking is conducive for each to maintain a healthier lifestyle; thus, people should be encouraged to walk more frequently.