First impression is the last impression. Some people believe that if you give a good interview, chances are high that you may get selected for the job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

This is the computer era. Everything from the clock to the books; cars to the airplanes; relationships to businesses have become digital. We are not concern about the results anymore, all we are bothered is whether the result was on time or not. And this time, the “time” has changed from being analog to digital. Seconds, even milliseconds do matter.

Running in this maddening race, first impressions certainly matter. No one has the time neither the chances to waste. Even more, it has so happened that the people applying for a particular job are quite high than the number of vacancies. This has increased the competition by many folds resulting into a decision based on the first impression. For example-: A person taking the interview has got merely 20 or 30 minutes to decide whether to take you or leave you. So, it is quite obvious that the interviewer’s decision depends entirely on what you project in those minutes.

However, when a sphere of society changes it does not means that the shift is in the entire society. First impressions do matter, but they are usually looked upon in short-term goals. For example-: Oprah Winfrey was rejected from a news channel stating she is unfit for television. She went on to become the most famous television personalities of all times. Her first impression was surely not the last. Even more, there have been cases when people were rejected from a particular company or school but later have been appreciated by the same company or school.

To sum up, first impressions do matter but it must be noted that the quicker the impression formed, the shorter it is lived. So, even if your first impression turns out to be a disaster, it can always be changed if you are determined to do so.