First impressions are important. Some people think that doing well in interviews is the key to securing the position. To what extent do you agree?

interview is a process of conversation to examine the qualities of candidate. Earlier, there were only one-to-one interviews but now there are telephonic interviews, online interviews and also one to many interviews. it is commonly believed by many that cracking an interview is the main step to grab a job. However, I partially agree with them as there are many other essential parts of applicant selection process nowadays.

To begin with, there is a very famous quote ' first impression is the last impression'. although it is not always correct but yes our first interaction with anyone leaves a remarkable impression. Talking about interviews, yes they are the significant way of selecting a right candidate for a job. Every interviewee tries his best to prove himself as an aspirant, most eligible and promising candidate. interview is the first phase of selection, that is why we prepare ourselves best for the interview. it’s a no doubt that an interview could examine your speaking fluency, knowledge and work experience but it is not a complete package to analyze the candidate’s personality.

although interview is the best way to evaluate someone’s technical ability, experience and in-depth knowledge about a domain but it alone could not check the leadership skills, managing skills and other relevant qualities. To analyze the personality of a person there are many other techniques such as group discussion, presentation and medical test. These days, it is also demanded by many organizations to give your medical fitness certificate that ensures you are fit to handle the offered position. Along with that a multi-phase selection process includes a group discussion round to scrutinize the confidence level, presentation to evaluate how good orator a person is. So, interview is just a step of selection method.

In conclusion, I partially agree that interview is the key factor to grab a job because there are many other important factors as well such as group discussion, medical fitness.