Formal examination are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. What is your opinion ?

A students performance can be assessed using two method which are formal examination or continual assessment. While Formal examination are useful in testing the students capacity to grasp and remember the lessons taught, continual assessment on the other hand helps in understanding the child's creativity and also their weakness. I believe although students need to be tested through written and oral examination, but, providing them with coursework and projects encourages them to use their mind and portray their understandings in a better manner.

To begin with, formal exams enables the student to study hard and increases their ability to memories the answers or concepts and replicate the same during their examination. However, some students are pressurized by their parents to get good marks and excel in their exams. According to a recent study, many students committed suicide as they had failed to live up to their parents expectation. As result, although this is the most common and widely used method, it may not be the most effective and also not suitable for all children.

Whereas, continual assessment is a slow process and involves a lot of time and patience to execute, it is proved to be beneficial for child development in the long run. For instance, according to the survey carried out by the guardian many students preferred showcasing their skills and knowledge through projects and presentations rather than giving an exam on the same topic. Also, they felt comfortable as their teachers or guides were there to help them if they got stuck on any topic. Moreover, students who suffer from anxiety or depression found it easier to express themselves.

Keeping all the above points in mind, providing students with coursework seems to be beneficial not only assessing the student's performance but it also develops their confidence and creativity. It helps them to read more and use other soft skills in addition to interpreting their learning's in their own style and not in a structured format. Thus, before assessing the students we need to ask ourselves is this method effective?