Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continuous assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Student's performance has never been about theories alone, it has always included practicals. Therefore, formal examinations cannot be the only effective way to assess it.

It is true that formal examinations are often reliable, as it usually forces students to study hard. Its strict, traditional method of conduct under close supervision often disallows students to engage in malpractices. Perhaps that is why many teachers prefer this method to evaluate their students.

However, it is also true that the majority of students, rather than learn to understand, tend to memorize to pass since it is their retained information that is being assessed. This contradicts the primary purpose of assessment: to gather 'relevant' information about the performance or progress of students. So whether formal examination is the only effective to assess student's performance is debatable. Continuous assessment is just another method that could be implemented that would assist in assessing performance.

The day-to-day feedback adopted in continuous assessment is undoubtedly effective. Projects and course works, for example, are carried out by students and assessed and corrected by supervisors almost every day, allowing tracking of progress, as well as measuring of performance to a satisfactory level.

Although some would still contest the effectiveness of continuous assessment due to the minor issue of plagiarism, experts have developed various methods to tackle this problem, so their opinion is invalid. It would then seem that it is one of many duties of teachers to embrace this method, not just formal examination.