In the time past, photographers used to give us real images of people and places. Nowadays it is difficult to trust what they give us

Is this a negative or positive development ?

Never before have images of individuals and locations been altered by photographers than at the present. I strongly believe that this modern development is hugely detrimental to security, health and personality of the people; although if we believe some, it has a side benefit.

With increasing photo-editing skills comes a growing photography industry. As photographers are changing skin tone as well as beautifying the background locations, making images increasingly appealing to audience, people are making use of their services, probably because this development often brings people's imaginations close to reality. This eventually creates jobs for people, which is an advantage.

However, this development is not without its disadvantages, too. For one, a person's identity is mostly bound up in facial shape, hair style, nose length etc. If such body organs of people are continually edited in almost every image, it can lead to faulty identity, which may hinder many security agencies from identifying people and performing their duty: keeping the people and society safe. For another, there seems to be constant pressure on many youths, especially females, to conform with the illusional images of skinny models that photographers alter and present to us on magazines, so they often choose to starve themselves instead of consuming enough food. If this were not true, there would not be an upsurge in the number of eating-disorder patients in our hospitals. Finally, images used to assist in telling realistic stories that audience can relate almost immediately with. But it seems people are now associating with false ideas as unrealistic images are deceiving them. Therefore, the personality of a reasonable number of individuals is being underdeveloped due to altered images.

In conclusion, some may believe that altering people and places in pictures is justified, but I think photographs should be presented to us in their original quality rather than edited.