Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Fresh water consumption have raised to an alarming level ubiquitously, despite its low availability and conservative natural sources. Overpopulation, high living standards and modernization have given flames to this burning issue. In contrast, pragmatic strategies and notions should be adopted by citizens and higher authorities altogether to mitigate this dilemma. Hence, consumption should be abated to the extent possible, followed by introducing alternatives to water on global level.

Apropos to the 21 century, an immense upsurge in water consumption and demand have been observed by scientists, overpopulation, being the top problematic cause. As a matter of fact, modernization and development have drastically reduced and polluted fresh water resources. For instance, recent study have provided strong evidence that usage of water for washing is 70% greater than drinking purpose. Moreover, due to easy and effortless availability of water facility in cities; wastage is a common practice among citizens. Ultimately, depriving other needy states of normal water supply.

Education and creating awareness among humans across the planet to save water and promoting sensible usage is the ultimate step to handle this pressing issue. Firstly, on the individual level unnecessary usage should be banished followed by adopting a balanced approach. secondly, higher authorities should set a usage limit accompanied by implementing taxing policies and serious penalties for consuming beyond limits. Thirdly, campaigns should be designed and awareness should be developed by mutating thought patterns and widening horizons of knowledge to solve this devastating issue worldwidely.

In conclusion, a balanced and thought provoking approach should be adopted globally associated with equal water supply across planet. Water linked wastage and consumption should be downsized to the extent possible by implementing strict regulations, strategies and expanding horizons of knowledge to national and international levels.