Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

It is irrefutable that fresh water resource are limited in quantity and it has become a global crises now. Various factors are responsible including the consumer and certain measures may improve the conditions involving government and public to take their responsibilities, these will be discussed in the following paragraphs in detail.

The lack in population control from the government especially in the developing countries has resulted into water scarcity in those regions. More importantly, mis management of available drinking water by these nations, due to the unavailability of trained man power to handle such issues has outcome more than 50 percent drainage while transferring from one source to another. Thus leads to the situation today where world require more water to satisfy needs.

Government has prime role to play in this, by incorporating strict guidelines with proper management of distribution channels. Furthermore, applying cost on the water which will force individual and businesses to use the resource efficiently. The duty recovered from the people can be utilize in filtration process of sea water to fulfil the demands. Individuals on the other hand can learn from their previous mistakes and consider this as a responsibility by minimizing waste.

In conclusion, various reasons including over population in the some regions of the world and unmanageable work has resulted into this scenario. Major steps like, involving cost and punishments on water wastage are required from the government to facilitate the water needs. More importantly, individuals have to understand their duties regarding water awareness and it is optimum use.