Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What are the causes of the increased demand and what measures could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

One of the greatest challenges that many nations across the world have been facing from long is having adequate clean water for usage. Although it is impacting limiting countries at present, but the increasing universal need for fresh water have made it to declare a worldwide issue. This intentions of this essay is to delineate the potential reasons attributing to the rise in demand, and suggest relevant solutions to address the concern.

The utmost conspicuous reasons of elevated fresh water demand are continuous ascend in population and exponential growth in industrialization. As a result, houses now require more water for their resident’s daily hygiene and other household chores, and industries for operational purposes. Numbers bespeak that personal and commercial usage accounts for a considerable 65% of the total global water consumption. This has concerned conservationists about a possible worldwide scarcity which world may have to experience soon.

In order to curb the growing urge of fresh water, authorities could take a plethora of initiatives with people assistance such as conducting awareness campaigns and imposing limits on the supply. Above all, an immediate relief can be assured by increasing water consumption fees, where a deeper dig into consumer’s pocket would remind them to use this fluid sagaciously to minimize its wastage. This has been proclaimed as fruitful and favorable by China where a 20% hike in its charges resulted a substantial 25% clean water savings. Moreover, the additional funds gathered can be utilized for waste water treatment to filter out any unwanted contaminants, making it suitable for re-use.

In conclusion, it is undoubtable that population expansion and industrial proliferation has led to a significant boost in fresh water consumption, but few stringent actions from regulators with public support can aid nations to combat this rising problem.