Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

English is one of the oldest and fastest growing languages in the world. Studying English is necessary in schools as a part of their curriculum. There are more than 100,000 languages in the world but English is most dominating language because of the following facts.

First, English is a common language used across the world. People travel to different countries and each country has its own language. As the scope of local language is limited to a region hence English fills this gap. Consider a situation where a person travels from China to Africa, both the countries are unfamiliar of each other’s language so, uses English as the common language for their communication.

Second, English belongs to British people, as we know Britishers have ruled in many countries of the world like India. Although, English men had left these countries years ago but because of their existence English has become a language of their culture.

Third, many literatures and scientific books were written in English as most of the scientist belonged to English speaking countries like America. Learning English is a prerequisite to understand their researches.

However, the above facts do not deny on learning regional languages as local languages are equally important to their culture, it describes the identity of a country. Best way to keep up with local languages is to include it as a mandatory subject in schools and use it in local conversations.

In conclusion, one cannot weight English above other language as they both are equally significant to the society. Learning English is imperative for a global career and learning local languages is a need to preserve the country culture and identity.