Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Governments have a plethora of areas to manage and a limited reserve of money for investment. In such a scenario, it becomes challenging to maintain the right balance of funding across departments. In this regard, some proponents have a notion that authorities must not spend any more on the arts, rather it should utilize this money in other developments such as health, education etc. However, I favor that art is essential for our culture and deserves a reasonable funding for its persistence and preservation.

There are myriad of reasons why arts is vital. One of the conspicuous reason is that it gives life to our culture. Looking back to the primitive times, we observe that our ancestors used drawings, paintings, engravings and sculptures to demonstrate the culture of the historical age. Since then it has been in existence, and even today we utilize its potential to showcase our cultural values. This could be best illustrated by an Indian painting that expressed youngsters touching the feet of their elders, apprise the values, respect, and feelings intact in the Indian community for their elders. Plausibly, in the absence of arts, it would be impossible to express cultural values and feelings freely.

On the other hand, it is perceived that the government has other enormous problems to resolve such as rising unemployment, threats to terrorism, poverty and deteriorating health which demand greater funding. For example, the world is being attacked by new allergies and diseases frequently which require greater research and money to manufacture vaccines and antidotes. Thus, a compromise in these areas would have a visible impact on our lives.

To conclude, arts has its own precious place in the society and non-funding to this department would have a significant value loss to the cultures and beliefs that people possess. Whereas, the other sectors demand a limitless money to cope up with uprising challenges, so the idealistic solution is to sagaciously decide a reasonable amount for arts and use the rest for other functions.