In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

Even though the agriculture has seen enormous advancements in recent years, yet people are starving for food. Agricultural practices such as cultivation, harvesting are dominated by today’s technology which has increased the production and enabled food industries to introduce new food types such as vegan, gluten-free, fat-free, but the irony is that despite these measures still, people die of hunger. This essay will discuss the possible reasons behind this problem and will put forward relevant solutions.

Firstly, there is no denying that technology has boosted the agricultural production, but at the same time, it has inflated food prices. Latest and expensive machinery are used for farming, and to compensate for this investment, raw vegetables and goods are sold at higher prices to the public. This rise in the prices makes it unaffordable for some people. For example, Punjab and Haryana in India produce a hefty amount of grains using modern and costly technology. When introduced, farmers sold products at the same cost but encountered damaging losses, hence eventually they raised their prices to compensate for the investments. Secondly, many countries export food products to other countries in abundance for a higher profit which causes a shortage in their own country.

There are myriad of measures that can reduce this suffering. At the foremost, the government should intervene to provide subsidy on agricultural machinery, thereby reducing initial setup cost which will bind the shooting prices. Furthermore, limits on exporting agricultural production are desirable to control sale to other countries. Last but not the least, the government should provide financial aid to the poor especially those who are below the poverty line so that they can purchase basic food for their survival.

To pen down the compendium, implementing the new technology alone would not turn up fruitful unless stringent actions are not incorporated by the authorities in trading practices, and financial support is not provided to farmers and poor.