Both The Poor And The Rich Find Accessibility Into University Difficult. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that both wealthy and non-privileged students face challenges in getting admission to universities. This essay disagrees with the statement because rich families can avail benefits of paid seats, whereas poor youngsters have to rely on their competencies. The following paragraphs of this essay will shed more light on these points.

Children from wealthy backgrounds do not need to worry about getting admission to colleges. This is because many universities have dedicated management seats, which are kept reserved for people who can pay affluent fees to get admission. It does not matter whether they have good marks or not, they can get admission to any course they wish if they are willing to pay the said amount. To illustrate, as per the recent survey published in times magazine, it was found that a substantial 80% of children belonging to rich families study in colleges on paid admission seats.

On the other hand, students from non-privileged backgrounds have to rely on scholarships to get admission to universities. If they are not able to secure outstanding marks in entrance examinations, they would not be able to qualify for the scholarship. In case of failure, they either have to wait for a year to reappear for the scholarship exam or drop the idea of taking admission to the university. Despite having outstanding grades in schools, many fail to follow their dream of further studies due to the lack of money. Statistics reveal that, out of all children who drop out of higher studies, a significant 85% belong to the poor class.

To recapitulate, life is easy for wealthy families, their willingness and potential to pay hefty fees opens a broad range of options to get admission to university on paid seats, whereas poor students compete against an extremely small fraction of seats, and admissions to which are possible through scholarships only, due to this most of them remain deprived of higher education.