Some people believe that for those who commit serious crimes, the death penalty should be the right punishment. Others, however, think that it is not ethical to punish the criminals by killing them. Discuss the positive aspects of both views and give your own opinion.

The crime rate has exponentially proliferated in the last few years and is demanding a serious action to curb its growth. In this regard, many have suggested that criminals committing heinous crimes should only be eligible for a death sentence, whereas some consider it as inhuman. This essay agrees that people involved in such crimes should not be spare and should be hanged till death. A complete agreement to this understanding will be established in the subsequent sections of this essay.

One of the conspicuous reasons to favor the death penalty is to set an example for others to refrain them from such evil acts. If a harsh punishment mechanism is in place, especially the ones costing their lives, people would not even think to attempt such disastrous and wicked offences. Therefore, this essay supports this opinion that a strict punishment is essential to message the world about a no mercy rule for such crimes. For example, Terrorists, rapists, contract killers and many more if left alive would pose a life of many innocents to risk due to their malign habits or illegal professions.

On the other hand, it is argued that by doing this government would take away the chance to permit such criminals to improve in the future. It is believed that right training, guidance, and teachings such as spiritual and ethical lessons can aid them to improve and get on to the right track. However, despite this, there is no guarantee that all culprits would improve, and is plausible that they might repeat their actions after returning to their normal routines. Thus, this outlook is disregarded in this essay. To support, as per the latest article published in the time's magazine, repeat offenders account for a 30% of the overall crimes because criminals routed back to their fundamental nature and environment after completing their imprisonments and rehabilitation.

In conclusion, although death punishment would deprive them of an opportunity to be a better citizen in the future, but the security of individuals cannot be compromised to respect this factor.