Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Concerning the proliferating accidents on the roads, many contend that drivers should mandatorily undergo a road test every half a decade. This essay will delineate both the pros and cons of motorists to go through a recurring exam to prove their roads skills in order to continue driving on the streets.

One of the preponderant benefits of repeat tests is that it will reduce the risk of accidents; thereby, providing better road safety. This is because, if drivers regularly appear for the examination, they would ascertain that their driving skills still meet the required vehicles operating knowledge and practice to stay on the road. In the absence of which they would be on a threat to having their permits revoked for the future. Surely, a regular check would lower the chances of accidents on the lanes. It can be best exemplified by a recent article which claimed that provinces will observe a 30% decline in road accidents, if a regular driving test is kept in place.

On the other hand, the conspicuous drawback would be an increase in the cost of license re-issue, as it would require ample of resources to conduct tests for everybody, every 5 years. Authorities would need to employ substantial manpower and expanded infrastructures to facilitate daily footfall. Ultimately, the expenses of these additions would drill down to the common man, attributing to a rise in the license price. For example, Delhi state in India, doubled the amount of driving certificates issue as they replaced paper exams with computer-based papers.

To recapitulate, where a periodic assessment will provide public safety on the roads, at the same time it will shoot up the charges of license procurement. However, later will be of less significance, if an enhanced security is ensured for citizens.