Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person's culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Do you agree or disagree?

In this fast-moving world, due to the lack of time people often make judgments about individuals by their appearances. In this regard, some proponents have a notion that even the person's traditional values and personality traits can be easily judged by his/her outfits. In my opinion, clothing can only infer a person’s character and culture to some extent, but this cannot be generalized as a universal rule.

There is no doubt that people clothing styles are dominated by their culture because they have been living in their traditions for centuries, and they feel comfortable to acquire its style. Moreover, a child learns about his traditions from his parents and ancestors thereby leading to adoption of style from childhood. In such cases, it is easy to apprise a person’s culture by his clothes. For example, ladies in Indian culture wear sarees which is their traditional practice, so it can be conveniently judged that women in sarees belong from India. Similarly, a person’s character also dominates his clothes selection such as a benign, calm and a humble person prefers peaceful colors like white, saffron and yellow to mirror his personality.

However, this might not be true always which is because people improvise, learn and adapt to new frequently. Nowadays, people often move to disparate places for work, study or better lifestyle where they pursue new traditions alongside their own traditions. This can be best exemplified by sharing my sister’s experience who was born in India and followed Indian outfits such as wrapping sarees and carrying ethnic dresses for her initial years, but later when she traveled to Canada and got accustomed to its lifestyle, her wardrobe got transformed to skirts and trousers. Apparently, in such cases, it is implausible to conclude a person’s culture by the clothes.

To pen down the compendium, costumes can assist deduce the culture and character in some instances where people continued practicing constant behaviors and rituals but fail when people transform their nature or evolve and adopt new customs and beliefs.