in the future, it may be scientifically possible for people to live for 150 years. this could be good news for individuals but it may have a negative consequence for our world as a whole

what are the benefits and risks of people living 150 years

Imagine a world of endless possibilities, wherewith the help of science and technology can become a reality. Longevity will top the list of wishes that we will want, and to live for up to 150 years, can be achieved in years to come. While people may celebrate this, it may also have some negative effect on the universe as a whole, but in my opinion, I believe that it will be cheering to live a little longer and that 150 years is not bad at all.

To begin with, the world was created for us to live in, this I say from my conviction as a Christian, and that God had designed us as immortals to occupy the earth until sin came through. Be that as it may, living long will benefit the society as people will have long enough time to teach and inculcate proper values, which is something that we are fast losing in our world today, and that has led to the social decay that pervades our society. Secondly, I believe the world would have witnessed more inventions if people lived longer. Imagine if people like Michael Faraday and Albert Einstein just to mention a few, had lived longer, we definitely would have robbed the grave of some of its riches (this is coming from the saying that the richest place on earth is the grave), and they would have most probably given us more scientific discoveries.

Nevertheless, there could be some disadvantages to living a very long time too. If people lived for 150 years, it will greatly affect the quality of life, as they will be burdened with a host of degenerative diseases and sicknesses of the old such as Alzheimer’s and arthritis. Another consequence is that it can put a strain on the resources of a country, an example is Japan, where a huge chunk of their national budget goes into the welfare of the aged and not so productive citizens.

In conclusion, despite some of the downside to long life on earth, I believe we would have enjoyed some priceless and indescribable moments if we lived longer and this cannot be quantified hence this development will largely be a positive one.