In the future, it may be scientifically possible for people to live for 150 years. this could be good news for an individual but it may have a negative consequence for our world as a whole

what are the benefits and risks of people living up to 150 years

In recent times, science has made a lot of advances in every aspect of life, even in areas until now considered difficult. While some people may laud the fact that scientists may be able to increase the lifespan of humans, others believe that it may have some negative impacts in our present universe. This essay will elucidate the benefits of people living up to 150 years which includes instilling of family value from generation to generation and the realization of their dreams. The essay will also discuss the drawbacks of longevity.

To begin with, living long will benefit society as people will have long enough time to teach and inculcate proper values to their children. A lot of the social ills in our world today is as a result of lack of proper upbringing and that has led to the social decay that pervades our society. Secondly, I believe the world would have witnessed more inventions if people like Michael Faraday and Albert Einstein just to mention a few of such brilliant minds, had lived longer, we definitely would have robbed the grave of some of its riches (this is coming from the saying that the richest place on earth is the grave), and they would have most probably given us more scientific discoveries.

Nevertheless, there could be some disadvantages to living a very long time too. If people lived for 150 years, the quality of life will be greatly affected, as they will be burdened with a host of degenerative diseases and sicknesses of the old such as Alzheimer’s and arthritis. Another consequence is that it can put a strain on the resources of a country, an example is Japan, where a huge chunk of their national budget goes into the welfare of the aged and not so productive citizens.

In conclusion, despite some of the downside to long life on earth, I believe we would have enjoyed some priceless and indescribable moments if we lived longer and this cannot be quantified hence this development will largely be a positive one.