BOTH THE RICH AND THE POOR FIND THE ACCESSIBILITY INTO UNIVERSITY DIFFICULT AGREE OR DISAGREE

While some people believe it is hard for both the affluent and the indigent to get into the tertiary institution of learning, a lot more think it is not. In my opinion, I believe a number of reasons have created this difficulty in accessing this level of education irrespective of social class. This essay x-rays the challenges of acquiring admissions into our citadels of learning for the larger population of post-high school pupils even though they are suitably qualified to be so admitted.

The infrastructural deficit is a big issue in developing countries like Nigeria and lack of these amenities affect both the rich and the poor. The number of Universities to pupil ratio is so low that irrespective of your social class or standing, you cannot just walk or wish yourself into one. The admissions board in Nigeria, for instance, said that it only admitted about 20% of students that sat for its matriculation exams notwithstanding if they had scored above the national cut off. They also admitted that intakes will increase if the number of universities in the country increases. Therefore we can see that lack of infrastructure makes it difficult for both the wealthy who can afford it and the poor who may likely hope for scholarships.

Also, there is the issue of formulating the proper policies in education. The United Nations stipulates that a minimum of 26% of your annual National budget must be spent on education, nevertheless, it is rarely so for a lot of developing countries. The result then is that there is a continuous decline in educational quality and indeed the number of new universities that can be opened. This situation affects all citizenry regardless of your wealth class or status. This poorly implemented policy makes it difficult for all comers to have access to university education.

Accessing university education is like finding a needle in a haystack; even with the introduction of private universities. There should be a proactive plan in increasing the number of universities, in order to increase the ease of entry