Some people say that the Internet is bringing people together by making the world smaller.

Do you agree that the Internet is making it easier for people to communicate with one another?

Since its invention, the interconnected network has affected the way we communicate, while some people may say that its influence on the way we communicate is largely negative, I dare say that it has made the world a global village.

Firstly, the internet has removed the distance between people and hence lowered the barrier to communication which may arise due to where you live on the globe. For instance, someone living in Australia can talk with someone in Nigeria just with the click of a button via Apps such as Zoom or Skype. Secondly, with the help of live streaming over the network. People cannot only view events in other countries, but they can also participate and be a part of the event, making their contributions and been appreciated for it, in this process, they become a part of those communities. Interactions like this lead to the exchange of cultures and improves the ability of one to be understood. Furthermore, it’s cheaper to communicate over the internet, this tremendously reduces the barrier to communication and makes the world a global village.

The above points notwithstanding, some people believe that there is a downside to exchanging information on the web. They believe that the human touch is lost as most of these forms of conveying information may not always express non-verbal cues such as facial expressions, gesticulations and other body movements. However, despite this misgiving, I will argue that several social media platforms have created some forms of socialization and improved human interactions with Apps such as Tinder and Facebook.

In conclusion, the internet has broken the barrier of distance and has greatly impacted the way we exchange information positively