Far too often, it has been said that books and newspaper cannot have a future in this world whcih relies more and more on digital technology. The widespread availability of Internet spots, computers, fast connections have permanently changed the way we face up to day-to-day life.

Just until to some decades ago regarded as a luxus, the Internet it is nowadays something people feel they have a right to and therefore to be actively pursued, used and enjoyed. Probably one the greatest breakthrough of the th century, the Internet opens the door to an immense ocean of knowledge once kept in books, making possible an incredible giant leap forward in scientific fields, like medicine, engineering and technology. Nowadays a constantly growing number of people can access this world full of know-how, news, culture mostly for free without distinction of race, sex and financial situation. The Internet is a powerful, democratic weapon that even less well-off individuals can take advantage of to improve themselves and to be proficient in several fields of interest.

All of these rather shining aspects, however should not blind us to the fact the paper-based news and knwoledge play still a significant part in our life. Although it is true that the Internet has an incredible edge because it is always up to date and it is basically free, newspaper and books are still woth reading for many reasons. First of all they do not need subscriptions, electricity, can be stored everywhere and picked up when one wants to do it. Furthermore books and newspaper are practical, handy and have virtually a longer life expectancy than electronical devices, since they do not have to rely on batteries, they fear no scratches and are virus-proof.

In addtion to this to some extent practical sides, an emotional component should taken into account as well. Books can be borrowed from friends, they can be given as gift and often they remind us of a place, of a particular person or a pleasant time of our life.How would be our life without books? I think that has occured to everybody to come across some old books from schools and to feel a sensation blanded with joy and nostalgy, smiling thiking back of those far days. Would it be possible to feel the same without books?

In conclusion, if the Internet is without doubt a powerful tool to check the news and to study, books and newspapers are still today a valide alternative to the digital world, in the light of their ease of use and affordability due to the fact that they do not need a sophisticated technology behind them in order to work.