As a result of a fast-paced life, fast food restaurants have grown steadily over the last decades. Many people prefer to eat a quick and cheap meal on the way home or during their break rather than cooking. Research have clearly demonstrated the risks and the detrimental effects this type of diet has on our health. Consequently, voices call for banning junk food advertising. Although avoiding this food is nothing short of a benefit, muting advertisement industry would not represent a sound solution.

Several diseases like diabetes, cardiovascular problems, and high pressure are related to a diet rich of fat and sugar. Although having lunch at a fast food restaurant seems to be an economical and quick alternative to cooking meals, this should not blind us of the hidden effects of this habit. Healthcare expenditure are reaching astronomical figures not only to face aging population but also to offer medical treatments for diseases related to junk food consumption. Prevention would be, therefore, the most powerful weapon to win obesity and urge people to embrace a healthier lifestyle which involves exercising and avoiding sugar.

Some go beyond it and demand a total ban of ads related to junk food. From my point of view, this is not the right approach to problem. We live in a free society where people should take responsibility of their own actions. Furthermore, advertisement is an industry employing thousands of writers, illustrators, and artists who may lost their job. We should also mention that in the last years fast food restaurants have begun to pay more attention to the quality of their products. Advertising has played a shaping role in this process, so banning ads can potentially have a detrimental effect on the food quality.

In conclusion, actions should be taken to improve a healthier lifestyle among people and inviting food providers to include fruit and vegetables in their meals. Banning ads would be the wrong way to tackle problems like obesity.