Giving lectures in auditoriums to large numbers of students is an old way of teaching. With the technology available today there is no justification for it, and everything should be done online. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

The discussion about lectures being conducted online or in an actual class environment has become a hot topic in the advanced world. With this in mind, the actual ways of giving lectures in the past are considered outdated, and people are thinking of changing it to online lectures. I completely disagree, it makes it difficult for students to understand lectures and they show demotivation towards online studying.

The first argument connects with students having a hard time understanding while studying online. To further explain, the students are unable to ask questions while studying online, whereas in the classroom they are welcome to ask questions after the lecture. For Example, in the United States, research was conducted about students who studied online and students who attended the classes. The results showed the GPA of students who attended the classes was higher than the students who studied online. In addition to the previous point, the classroom environment provides students to attend practical labs which aid students to practice the theoretical knowledge and understand the applications of that knowledge in real life.

Yes, the point mentioned above provides a stronger argument, but also consider that online study makes the student demotivated, and the individual is unable to show full interest during the lecture. It is also difficult for the teacher to know how many students pay attention, so most students end up getting bad results in tests. For instance, Udemy, the online learning company, found that only 12% of people who purchased their online courses actually watched all the videos and completed the online tasks, principally due to lack of supervision.

In conclusion, I believe that shifting lectures from class to an online environment is not a good solution because it makes it harder for people to absorb knowledge. The teacher and the student should be in the same room during a lecture which will result in students being more motivated towards studies.