Government give a lot of support to artists even though some people think it is a waste of money that could have been used elsewhere. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

Question: Government give a lot of support to artists even though some people think it is a waste of money that could have been used elsewhere. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that most of the monetary resources are being spent on art forms by governments. Others believe that it should be used for other productive works. Although investment in the art sector can glorify their country's name, I believe that other sources such as third world problems should be considered first.

On the one hand, financial support to the artist makes the country well-known in other nations. This is to say that through art countries can depict their cultural heritage to the tourists, and can also take part in the cultural organisation at a global level. Consequently, by this, they get name and fame after winning awards for their country which gives them status among other developed countries. For example, 'India Art' fair held in Delhi have got the first place in the modern and contemporary art form in the world which makes the country famous among visitors. However, I believe that it is useless to spend on it if the countries basic necessities are not fulfilled.

On the other hand, It is thought that the government should spend money on providing education, medical facilities, transports and food because many underdeveloped and developing countries, still cannot accomplish these needs. Therefore if authorities will spend money on these things then countries can develop and get progress. For instance, 'Times of India' reported that the countries who are investing their monetary resources on the basic requirements of people are getting progress increasingly. I believe this school of thought is prominent because it ensures the human as well as economic development of the country.

In conclusion, even though spending money on artists gives glory to the country, the other major requirements of the nation should be on the top to make the country developed.