Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.To what extent do yo u agree with this statement?

Nowadays, government is taking initiatives to develop arts and culture in the society; however some thinks that rather this money should be used in improving public services. I agree that both the fields are important in developing a better place for the society to live in.

Public services are building blocks of any nation. Spending on services like hospitals, roads and public toiletries provides a sustainable infrastructure to live in. For example, in India, government has launched many reforms to build new roads to connect remote villages with urban life. This in turn helped farmers in villages to look out for more business avenues.

Moreover, these services are necessity for smooth functioning of the society. To exemplify this, access to better government-provided hospitals help individuals to maintain their health, in turn it increases life expectancy of the nation as a whole.

Despite of the above fact, allotment of a financial budget to promote arts and theatre in equally necessary. Supporting and promoting entertainment industry helps us to connect and know more about our culture and history. For instance, the yearly Ram Leela show performed by artisans in India provides us knowledge about our cultural background and its significance. Furthermore, arts, theatre and entertainment are regarded as recreational activities, which mean they help an individual to overcome the boredom of his mundane life.

In conclusion, investing and developing in art and culture society is as important as investing in public services. Both of these go hand in hand for nurturing citizens of any country.