Government investment in the visual arts, the kind you commonly see in art galleries, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

These days, many local governments spend large portions of their budget not only on public services, but also on the visual arts .Although I agree that it is important to invest in local amenities, I do not think spending on the visual arts is a waste of money. This essay will discuss this issue using examples to support arguments and demonstrate points.

On the one hand, spending a significant amount of the government budget on public services is beneficial for society. providing for basic amenities, such as hospitals, roads, and schools, helps to determine the quality of life that most citizens will have. For example, a recent survey by Education Today shows that countries that spend more on schools have a population that is higher in literacy, by 65%, compared to those that dedicate no money to education. Therefore it is apparent that spending on public services is a worthwhile investment for a government.

However, this does not mean that the visual arts should be completely neglected. The visual arts also have an important impact on our quality of life. for example, a recent study conducted by the World Health Organization concluded that individuals that regularly visit art galleries are cited as being 20% happier in life than people who do not. Seeing the health benefits that many people get from the visual arts, it is important that the government assists such institutions so that they can continue to provide pleasure to the public.

To sum up, although there are clear benefits of ensuring a large amount of investment goes into public services, I do not believe spending money on the arts is a waste of money as this too provides important benefits. In the future, governments should consider budgeting for both.