Government should be responsible for funding and controlling a scientific research rather than private organization. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Some people assert that the government has an obligation to fund and control a science research, while others maintain that it is the responsibility of private firms. In my opinion, I strongly believe that it is the role of government bodies to invest and scrutinize the research work that is for the betterment of society.

On the one hand, government authorities mainly fund a scientific finding which is done for the well being of society. In fact, a procedure is adopted before the approval of any financial grant. Provided that research contributes towards the improvement and uplift of humanity, it will likely get a financial assistance from authorities. In addition to it, the government-funded scientific findings are unbiased without involving any sorts of personal interests or susceptible intentions. For instance, a study of drug followed through continuous and impartial test procedures before finally reaching to consumers. Henceforth, government role is imperative for financing and handling the research proposal.

On the contrary, research governed by private companies is often driven by profits consideration. These firms are swayed by lucrative profits irrespective consideration of benefits and needs of society. Thus, it is highly likely that a company will fund research unless it forecast their vested interest. Moreover, the outcomes of privately funded studies are often biased. In most of the cases, the researchers and scientists are bribed by private firms to modify the results in their favor, which could lead to grave consequences for public.

In conclusion, although private sector is successfully contributing and investing in scientific studies, yet I strongly believe that the government bodies are responsible for investing and handling the research programs.