Online education is becoming increasingly popular. Many university students are choosing to studying online instead of face to face. Do the advantages of distance learning outweigh the disadvantages?

Online learning has been gaining popularity. More and more tertiary students opt to study online rather than traditional education. Despite of the merits of traditional education, the benefits of studying online outweigh the drawbacks.

To begin with, the prime advantage of distance learning is that it enables students the flexibility of studying at their own time schedules. Traditionally, conventional education system is based on set of schedules and fixed timetables. Hence, it was difficult for full-time working students and students with family commitments to attend the classes. In contrast, the internet courses are good alternative for students who want to manage their families and work beside their studies. Another advantage is that it provides access to the online courses by computers and smart phones from any location. Especially, students living in the remote location can enjoy the benefits of off-campus education. As result, living in far location is no longer impediment to education owing to the availability of extensive internet courses. Henceforth, distance education offers learning with flexibility and convenience.

Nonetheless, there is a drawback associated with the e-learning that learners will not be able to develop critical social skills, such as, interpersonal and communication skills. The obvious reason is that if a person studies online, unlike the formal classes he would not face to face interaction with the teachers and peers. Moreover, pupils would miss the opportunity to work in team and they would not develop team work capabilities. Consequently, there is a probability of forming generations which lack social skills.

In conclusion, the computer based courses are the alternative of formal classes. I believe that the disadvantages of online learning are outweighed by the advantages.