Government should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organization. Do you think it is positive or negative development?

To control the research becomes more independent and accessible, I believe that the government should responsible for funding all research expenses instead of private sector. However, the bureaucracy still becomes the cliche problem.

Researchers usually attempt to get money from private company because of the better income, but they have a tendency to manipulate the data to adjust with the funding expectations. For example, Indonesia Survey Agency, one of the most popular survey institution in Indonesia, usually made a survey to find the desire of voters before participate in election. They are often hired by one of the candidate, and the survey becomes in favor of the one. In addition, the research funded by private, usually non accessible for all people. The result is completely becomes the organization's property. For example, the artificial intelligence funded by Google is categorized as confidential technology. It could be dangerous if the company try to hijack or rebel to the state by its technology.

On the other hand, the main problem when the government handle all research fund, is the bureaucracy. Research is different compare to buying products, tickets or staying in the hotel, it could be arranged in the planning of the year and its proof that can be reimbursed, but for the research the reverse. The researchers usually spend a lot of money without proof, they have a tendency to pay for the interviewer, buy the paper or pay the security to get the real data.For example, in Indonesian Science Agency (LIPl), the researchers have to give the travel documents and the taxi billing to get their money back while they do not have its documents.

In conclusion, I believe that funding and controlling the research should be the government responsibility, since it is independent and accessible. Where possible, the government should make a regulation to reduce the bureaucracy requirements.