The government is spending a lot of money to discover life on other planets. Some people think that government is wasting money and should spend more money addressing the problems of public.

To what extent do you agree?

Since the first rocket had been launched the mankind has been trying to find life in other worlds. This endeavor would be impossible if government didn’t spent resources on it. There are two distinctive prospects on this situation. Some believe that the money that has been invested for decades is wasted, at the same time, there are those who support the search and I am one of them. Below both points of view will be discussed in details.

Primarily, those who argue against the idea state that there are many Earthly problems that demand our immediate attention. For instance, environmental issues that might have been alleviated significantly if government had spent the resources devoted to search for extra-terrestrial life on financing such ecologically friendly projects as construction of plants powered by solar energy and wind. From this point of view, politicians misusing limited resources on pursuing vague, if not useless, goals.

However, there is an alternative position on the issue. Many scientists claim that searching for alien life forms has increased the volume of our knowledge about the universe, its creation and development, and the more we know about the nature, the better we understand ourselves. For example, while looking for other civilization, astronomers have collected huge volume of data about other star systems and their mechanics. In fact, there has been found more then 10 000 Earth-like planets or Super-Earths. All the gathered information is used to better understand the Solar system and its origin. Consequently, it is hardly possible to say that the finances were wasted.

Furthermore, the search for aliens might be bringing some fruits in the future. Many pundits aver that this discovery is only matter of time. If the mankind contacts another life form, it will have a tremendous impact on all scientific fields from biology to philosophy. Having in mind this prospect makes the spending reasonable.

To sum up, although search for life in the space is seemed by some as meaningless, it appears that there are some benefits that outweigh the drawbacks.