Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

For the last thirty years, governments have been spent more budget on the building of new highways and repairing roads, than on developing of railroads. It is thought by some people that improvement of the current railroad system will benefit the whole population and environment. Therefore, more money should be spent on the building of new stations and railroads. I totally agree with this statement. I think, that improved railroad’s network will bring a lot of advantages to every large city.

Firstly, it is well-known fact, that car or vehicle emissions are polluting our air. Besides, while car’s engine idles in a traffic jam, it produces in two times more amounts of carbon dioxide. Secondly, cars are not able to carry on as many passengers or quantities of goods as train does. And finally, contemporary railroad transport could be much faster than simple lorries or buses. To give a clear example, there is modern express in Japan that can achieve up to four hundred kilometers per hour. However, there such technology is currently impossible in my native country due economical unset. So, I want to give a clear example about more feasible solution of this problem.

I want to tell about Ukrainian city which named Kharkiv. This is a vast city in comparing with other Ukrainian cities with a pretty bad road system. There are very narrow streets, so gridlocks are essential part of this city. But there is a real salvation for Kharkiv inhabitants is a subway. It’s not so fast as Japanese train, but it much faster and cheaper than a local transport. So, there is no need to spend your time for a traffic jam.

In conclusion, I’d like to say that governments should spend country’s budget wisely and remember about every kind of transport that’s available in our country.