Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that government should allocate larger funds to invest on railways as opposed to roads. This essay completely disagrees with the statement above as it believes majority of population travels using personal transportation, therefore, more investment should be done to improve roads. The essay will discuss disadvantages of railways and then support why roads deserve more allocation of funds.

Although railways connect far ends of the nation, it has been proven less beneficial for people to travel within a city or in state. The principal reason is huge operating and infrastructure cost of this transportation system. As a result, government cannot provide railways service in every state. In addition, the ticket prices of railways are usually expensive for short commutes, therefore, it becomes less practical to incorporate its use on day to day basis. Thus, expensive tickets and lack of network for domestic travelling leaves this means only for larger routes which are suitable for heavy transportation and industrial purposes, such as transportation of oil from the northern states to the southern states.

On the other hand, majority of population use personal transportation, such as a car or a scooter, for their daily commute to office or school. With increasing population in the cities, the streets are becoming crowded and narrower, which are causing traffic congestions, and a result of this, daily travel time of citizens is increasing. Therefore, it is recommended that government should invest more money in building freeways, expanding local roads, and improve the quality of road transportation. The immediate benefit would be saving in nonproductive time which could be utilized in other useful activities. The Times newspaper published that around 30% urban population waste 4 hours weekly because of heavy traffic conditions.

In conclusion, government should invest more funds on building high quality freeways which could save nonproductive travel time of large population as compared to spending on the expensive railway system.