With the advance in modern technology, people are becoming more socially disconnected. At what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this digital era, social interactions are loosing the appeal it used to have. I strongly agree with the notion of people becoming less socially attached because of my observation on the decreased number of social activities and absence of mindfulness in day to day social contexts. In this essay, I will elaborate this with relevent examples.

Firstly, young men and women do not express as much interest as before towards social activities. To elaborate, they spend most of there leisure time using digital technology instead of hanging out with friends, playing sports and traveling. Recretional activities have started to depend on watching films, playing video games and surfing internet which is isolating individuals of many age vigorously. A case studies conducted by Simon Fraser University has discovered that access to digital devices rise the possibility of being socially disconnected to 42%, the percentage is even higher among the people living in urban areas.

Secondly, digital technology contributes towards lack of mindfulness among the young generation. In other words, young adults are often seen to use their mobile devices to play games or answer messages online ignoring the people sitting next to them. In many cases, they fails to give concentration on their friends conversation because he/she is watching something else on the social media feed. These kind of behaviour slowly make the individuals disconnected from their friends and family. For instance, a research has found that people who use digital technology in regular basis can concentrate 22% less while socializing comparing to the people who are reluctant to the usage of technology.

In contrast, some would argue that social media is connecting people with each other and therefore technology is not culpable for social disconnection. However, social media is discouraging the youth to meet in person, which is ultimately causing difficulties when the young generation are trying to build communication face to face. A recent survey on some school students has shown that students are interested to chat in messenger and whatsapp, and they are not comfortable to hangout in person.

To conclude, it is high time to take necessary steps by the government, policymakers and psychologists to control the usage of technology among the young audience to hold back from building a socially disconnected generation.