Governments spend a lot of money on public celebrations such as national holidays and public festivals. Some people say that the government spends too much on this and that they should use this money on other useful things. Do you agree or disagree?

National events and public celebrations are part of government spending. However, it is often argued whether an excessive amount of money from the state budget should be used for events or money should be allocated for other needs. I personally tend to favour the latter statement and believe that money should be directed on the development of infrastructure or modernize existing ones, while money on holding events should be used from sponsorship.

To begin with, the government is directly responsible for improving the welfare of the population. In other words, investments in the improvement of infrastructure in the form of hospitals, education institutions or manufacturing are believed to be a straightforward way to improve the standard of people’s living. This is because it would have a knock-on effect on population such as increasing life expectancy, growing literacy and decreasing unemployment rate. By contrast, public spending allocated on annual public celebrations may enhance only joyfulness for a few days rather than the quality of life in general.

However, despite the costly holding events, they play a crucial role in the creation of close-knit community boosting public’s spirits and raising proud in the country by honoring traditions. For this reason, the governments may engage investment in national festivals. This is important because it is not only may contribute to saving money for significantly important needs but also can enhance the status of a country among residents due to it encourages them to uphold long-standing traditional events.

In conclusion, although public festivals are a key to creating a strong bond and feelings of pride in the country, from my point of view, the administration may attract funds from sponsors; instead, saved money may be used to upgrade infrastructure as it has prolonged effects on people’s well-being.