the growth of online shopping will one day lead to bankrupt all shops in towns and cities

do you agree or disagree?

Whilst some people are of the belief that the increase of the online shopping may force many shops to close or declare their bankrupting , others believe that their trade may survive. I believe that online shopping will be the coming trend and it will lead many shops to close their doors forever. This essay will manifest my opinion .

On the one hand, online shopping has many merits that can make life easier for many people. In other words, it a time and money saver to buy via the internet without the need to drive through traffic and go to malls for hours while you can have the same product by a screen touch. This can be exemplified through a survey which has been published last month in the New York Times shows that the online buying power has increased by almost 85% in the past few months which led to the closure of famous brands stores. Hence, online shopping has the greater influence in the trade businesses.

In addition to that, in the past few months, buying from home and without the need to leave your house spread widely. This can be further explained during covid 19 crisis, when almost the whole world had to stay home; curfew has been imposed. Therefore, the only way to purchase cloth, devices, tools, and food was through online shopping. As an illustration, purchasing via internet websites and applications saved humanity. Moreover, it enabled them to live a normal life during the pandemic.

In conclusion, the power of online shopping has shifted the balance from the hands of a few to the masses. Many people believe that the plethora of the merits that online shopping provides may lead to the bankrupting of some brands and stores around the world. I totally agree with that point of view.