The growth of online shopping will one day to lead to all shops in town to cities closing

Do you agree or disagree?

Can the brick and mortar shops compete with the virtual malls? Despite the massive growth of internet based retail stores, I believe the shops in our neighborhoods are here to stay and in this essay I will state reasons for my view.

The most compelling reason for my view is due the fact that, there is no substitute to the human sense of touch. While there are many commodities we may buy after looking at the pictures or videos, there are lot of products which we prefer to see them in color, dimensions and texture to gauge the experience for ourselves. To exemplify, people like trying variety of shoes or clothing, before swiping up their credit cards. Although the cinematics of multimedia and convenience to purchase in couple of clicks is preferred by many, as human beings, our brains are hard wired to feel physical attributes for items of personal use which is impossible to change in a foreseeable future. Even with the state of art technology there have been many cases of online scams, therefore even the most modern shoppers would at times consider walking down to a trustworthy retail store that gives a personal touch despite of the plethora of shopping portals on the World Wide Web.

Another reason for my opinion is because there are times with all individuals when they need something urgently and waiting for the delivery is not an option. While there is always a faster delivery option available online, situations when there are sudden travel plans or celebrations that may lead us into unavoidable needs. Since planning for every situation beforehand is impossible, individuals would tend to rush to the most nearby market place for their urgent needs, for example food and cosmetics. Market places have always been around for centuries catering to our urgent requirements where most people would find convenient to shop over the counter rather than waiting for few days for the product to be delivered.

To conclude with, I believe that even though internet based websites offer convenience, there are many scenarios where the brick and mortar shops win and may give the best shopping experience to the consumer hence the physical stores would continue doing business as usual and offer a strong competition to ecommerce.