Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

In many nations around the world, corporate employees lack regular exercise as part of their daily lives. While there could be plenty of reasons for this undesirable occurrence, there are certain measures that could be taken to bring workout routines as part of our schedules to alleviate the problems.

Although there is a wide spectrum of causes that could prevent us from exercising, primary reason can be linked to our desk jobs. As corporate work culture revolve around cubicles, board rooms and conferences, most of the employees remain glued to their chairs for almost 10 to 12 hours a day at work. Furthermore, the stress levels arising from the employment could be a major form of demotivation to work out in free time, instead people end up being couch potatoes. Lastly, traffic jams and urbanization might be adding fuel to fire by eating up time of working professionals and making it difficult for them to access gym or sports facilities.

Despite the variety of causes, a number of steps can be taken to increase the physical activities as part of the routine of working individuals. To begin with, offices can be equipped with standing desks, thread mills or a gym area as facilities for employees enabling them to make most out of their time. Additionally, corporations can sponsor their employees to form sports team or give them time off for representing corporate sports events such as marathons or soccer. Lastly, the government could launch a nationwide campaign to spread awareness on health & fitness, for instance, offer rewards to general public to stay fit by taking public transport instead of driving a car to commute.

To conclude with, since there are plethora of reasons that hinder ones physical activities in this day and age, it is imperative for companies and administration to adopt practices that help reduce stress levels and promote active lifestyle in order to ensure wellbeing of its work force.