The high sale of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and do not real need of a society in which goods are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In industrial countries as well in some less developed one, new consumer goods are emerging at an alarming rate to meet the diversified needs of people from all walk of life. And it seems that this trend of consumerism is fuelled by widespread advertising in modern societies. In my opinion, both factors are critical in soaring the sales of consumer goods.

On the one hand, with the fast pace of modernization, people's physical and spiritual needs are greatly diversified and are carefully categorized which can be witnessed by mushrooming of supermarkets, department stores, and shopping malls. From kitchenware to gardening implements, office consumables to household confections, those places exist to offer a splendid array of modern commodities, catering to every particular taste of humans. No wonder many housewives are so thrilled at the thought of next shopping spree! Moreover, many businesses have sprouted up in recent years. For example, the pedicure industry is thriving as an effective channel to relieve stress and strains of modern life.

On the other hand, the mighty power of advertising is also a contributing factor. It causes people to buy unnecessary items. For Example, manufacturers are step-by-step commercializing commodities by inviting celebrities to promote their brands. Moreover, people are bombarded with so many adverts and broadcasting propaganda. Commercials on television or colorful images on brochures stimulate purchasing impulse in the audience - their potential consumers - although those irons are irrelevant to their products. For instance, car manufacturers and real estate businesses are criticized for using shapely models in their advertisements, the climbing sale of cars and properties give evidence to their great success, at least in commercial terms.

In conclusion, in the analysis of excessive consumption of consumer goods, it is obvious that people's real need and magnetism of advertising are the two most powerful forces at work. In fact, it is often difficult to distinguish between them because a really fascinating advertisement can actually create new needs in viewers.