Holding International games such as the Olympic Games is an exciting event. Some people think it is positive while others argue it is waste of money. Discuss both.

International games such as the Olympic or the World Cup is a prestigious event that many countries are competing to host. While the value of the event in terms of financial and exposure brings to the host country cannot be denied, there are still opinions against the idea. In this essay, I will try to address this from both sides.

To begin with, a highly respected international event no doubt will bring a lot of attention and potentially a huge amount of money through tourism and related services. For instance, the World Cup is a sporting event held every four years that see the competition of the 32 best footballing countries around the world. People from over the world travel to the host country to attend the games live or millions of people watch through TV, online stream platform that brings money for the host country through tourism and advertisement.

Another value-added is the development of the country’s infrastructure. In order to support a huge event that is in the attention of the world, the host country must invest in its roads, stadiums, training centers, hotels. This investment is not only for the event but also could be utilized after it had finished. For example, when hosted the Sea Games event in 2010, Vietnam had built a national stadium with a capacity of 60 thousand seats that are still in use for today’s games.

On the other hand, hosting such an event may cause damage to a country's economy. If the planning was not carefully planned, the income of an event may not able to cover all the expenses thus putting the host country in debt. Furthermore, having a lot of tourists in one place may raise a concern for local security.

In summary, there are advantages and disadvantages that needed to be considered. But usually, the advantages are far better so that countries are jumping at the chance to host such an event.