The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

Nowadays, it is common for people to pursue more than one career at the same time or to switch their line of work frequently. Actually, people of all ages are enrolling in various regular and online courses to acquire new skills and qualifications. The concept of studying until a certain age and pursuing a single career afterwards is now passé. In my opinion, growing ambition and availability of new and exciting opportunities are the factors that encourage this trend.

People want to achieve more and more. They are not content with what they have. Their social feed is full of the success stories of their old class mates and they want to emulate them. For most people, pursuing more than one career is the only way to achieve their ambitions in life. So, doctors are working as lecturers at various institutes in their spare time. IT and management professionals are dedicating their weekends for building their own start-up. Everybody is exploring all possible ways of finding an extra source of income. And to cater to the needs of these zealous job hoppers both online and offline skill development courses are available.

Soaring competition also encourages many adults to seek excellence in more than one area. Job security is no longer available in many sectors. People may lose their job anytime and to protect themselves against such catastrophic scenarios, they are working two or three jobs. For example, a salesman may work not only as a marketing executive but also as a real-estate agent. A journalist may run a blog in his spare time. No one wants to take chances with their financial security and stability.

The availability of more opportunities also motivates many enthusiasts to adopt multiple careers. Thanks to the advent of the internet and telecommuting, people now have the option of working from anywhere. This enables them to freelance without quitting their full time job.

To conclusion, ambition and the lack of job security are the factors that drive people to pursue multiple careers. The availability of new opportunities just made this easier for them.