Should individual limit the use of car and use alternative things instead to protect environment?

Car usage have significantly increased in the last century. There is an ongoing debate among people that car usage should be limited in order to not harm the environment. This essay will discuss how use of car is harmful for the environment.

First of all, gases are released by the combustion of fuel in the engine. These gases, especially carbon dioxide is extremely detrimental for the ozone layer and is resulting in global warming. For example, due to melting of glaciers there has been a surge in floods all over the world. Therefore, the consequences of car usage should be realised before its too late.

Secondly, high demand of fuel is created by use of car and results in further drilling in the oceans for procuring of the oil which is later converted in the fuel for the car.This means that marine life is disturbed in the oceans and as a result some of the species are becoming extinct. For instance, blue whale population has significantly reduced in the oceans and they are on verge of extinction. The negative effects of car usage can again be seen.

In conclusion, car usage results in the release of gases and put pressure on demand of fuel consumption. In my opinion, alternate means of transport should be used in our daily life so that our environment can be protected.