There is no need for newspapers in the modern world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement of technology, the number of people who read newspaper have decreased. There are people who believe that there is no need of newspaper in the current time. This essay will discuss how this notion is incorrect.

To begin with, newspaper is still the most authentic source to get information about the current affairs. News in the newspaper are first reviewed by the editors themselves in order to provide correct information to their readers and verify the details which is not the case in other sources. For instance, too much information is available online on social media such as facebook and twitter but its' authenticity is always questionable as it can be shared by any individual. Therefore newspapers provide more reliable information as compared to other mediums.

Secondly, reading newspaper maintains the reading habit of any person. In this time of technology people are more engaged with gadgets and their interest in reading books is decreasing with the passage of time which is deteriorating the intellectual skills of a person in particular and society in general. For example, according to a survey in US there has been a decline in the percent of intellectual people in the US. Thus, newspapers are useful in developing the reading skills which is beneficial for the society.

In conclusion, newspapers are the most reliable source of information and also it helps in maintaining the reading habits of people. In my opinion, use of newspapers should still be encouraged despite the easy access to other sources of information.